Fersteinn – Lárviður



Right click or control click titles to download





1 Octet no 1 MASTER









2 Horkvartett no 3 MASTER









3 Flautulag 1 MASTER









4 Octet no 6 MASTER







5 Kvartett no 17-1 MASTER







6 Kvartett no 17-2 MASTER







7 Kvartett no 17-3 MASTER






8 Octet no 3 MASTER







9 Flautulag 2 MASTER







10 Octet no 2 MASTER







11 Horkvartett no 1 MASTER







12 Octet no 5 MASTER







13 Flautulag 3 MASTER







14 Octet no 4 MASTER






Fersteinn is a quartet that performs mostly designated repertoire of works by Guðmundur Steinn Gunnarsson. Most of the music is read from computer screens, utilizing moving graphics or animated notation (anitation) to convey the musical ideas. Apart from ever present unequal rhythms the musical sounds consist of household objects, instruments in just intonation, found objects, hunting gear and traditional instruments, playing in a traditional or less traditional manner. Many of the compositions can be varied quite extensively and the group often experiments with that in a live setting. All of the members are composers and mulit-instrumentalists in their own right.
Previously the group has released “Haltrandi Rósir”, the quadruple album “Sólarlag við tjörnina – 64 variations on a theme”, plus a 10″ octagonal record made by De Player in Rotterdam called “Kvartett no. 8 1-3”. The group has performed in places such as Christoph Schiller Atelier Konzerte (CH), Forum für Kunst und Arkitechtur, Essen (DE), Altekirche Nikolausweg, Bonn (DE), Bergerkirche Düsseldorf (DE), Delta (NE), De Player (NE), Vhleesal (NE), Wall Gallery (NE), l’Impremere Ephemere (BE) and festivals such as Sequences (IS), Ljósanótt (IS), Ljóðhátíð ljóðfélagsins or Nýhil (IS), Sláturtíð (IS), Raflost (IS) and in Hljómskálinn í Reykjavík as a part of a collaborative installation with artist Berglind Jóna Hlynsdóttir.


Fersteinn is:

Bára Sigurjónsdóttir: bamboo saxophone, duck call, microtonal pan flute, percussion and more

Guðmundur Steinn Gunnarsson: ukulele, jack rabbit call, microtonal harmonica, percussion and more

Lárus H. Grímsson: deer grunt call, microtonal pan flute, percussion and more

Páll Ivan frá Eiðum: recorder, slide whistle, whistle, goose call, microtonal harmonica, percussion and more

Guest appearance in Oktett no.1: Bärbel Schwarz Percussion.

Recorded in L.H.Í. organ room.
Mixed at Videopool, Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Mastered at Outta Town Sound, rural Manitoba, Canada

All compositions by © Guðmundur Steinn Gunnarsson